MCA 2021

Mathematical Congress of the Americas

19-24 July

Due to  current uncertainty about the possibility of traveling  next year, and in order to make planning ahead possible, the Steering Committee has decided to make MCA 2021 a fully online event.

  • Days
  • Hours
  • Minutes
  • Seconds

Latest News

Mar, 2020

The Mathematical Council of the Americas (MCofA) welcomes nominations for the following prizes, which will be awarded on the occasion of the 3rd Mathematical Congress of the Americas (Buenos Aires, July 19‐24, 2021).

Sep, 2020

We have received wonderful proposals in a broad range of topics. Check all the 41 confirmed sessions!

Jun, 2020

The American Mathematical Society (AMS) has received an award from National Science Foundation (NSF) to support a travel-grant program for US-based mathematicians to participate in MCA 2021 in Buenos Aires.

Jun, 2020

Proposals of special sessions at MCA 2021 are welcomed by the Special Sessions Committee. The deadline for submission of proposals is July 31st, 2020.

About The Event

Mathematical Congress of the Americas
The goal of the Mathematical Congress of the Americas (MCA) is to internationally highlight the excellence of mathematical achievements in the Americas and foster collaborations among researchers, students, institutions and mathematical societies in the Americas.
Welcome to Argentina!
Welcome to Argentina!
We hope you will have a great stay in Buenos Aires, and that it will be a time for discovery and exploration.
Looking forward to meeting you!
Looking forward to meeting you!
We expect more than 500 participants from the Americas and the world. A great chance to make new friends and collaborators!
Mathematical Council of the Americas

The Mathematical Council of the Americas (MCofA) is a network for professional mathematical societies and research institutes based in the Americas, dedicated to promoting the development of mathematics, in all its aspects, throughout the continent. As a continental collaborative effort, special attention is given to cooperating with the Mathematical Union for Latin America and the Caribbean (UMALCA).

The MCofA aims to highlight the excellence of mathematical achievements in the Americas within the context of the international arena and to foster the scientific integration of all mathematical communities in the continent.

The MCofA organizes a quadrennial Mathematical Congress of the Americas (MCA) that rotates host countries throughout the continent.

To learn more about the MCofA visit main web site:

Plenary speakers

Ian Agol
Ian AgolUniversity of California, Berkeley
Julia Chuzhoy
Julia ChuzhoyToyota Technological Institute at Chicago
Carlos Kenig
Carlos KenigUniversity of Chicago
Allan Sly
Allan SlyPrinceton University
Claire Voisin
Claire VoisinCollège de France
Miguel Walsh
Miguel WalshUniversidad de Buenos Aires

Invited speakers

Carolina AraujoInstituto de Matemática Pura e Aplicada, Brasil
Tim AustinUniversity of California, USA
Alice ChangPrinceton University, USA
Carlos di PriscoAcademia de Ciencias de América Latina, Venezuela
Ricardo R. DuranUniversidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Jacob Fox *Stanford University, USA
Irene GambaThe University of Texas at Austin, USA
Xavier Gomez-MontCentro de Investigaciones en Matemática, México
Richard KenyonBrown University, USA
Bryna KraNorthwestern University, USA
Jorge LauretUniversidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina
Ernesto LupercioCinvestav-IPN, México
Davi MaximoUniversity of Pennsylvania, USA
Rafael PotrieUniversidad de la República, Uruguay
Julio RossiUniversidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Christiane RousseauUniversite de Montreal
Jaime San MartínUniversidad de Chile, Chile
Pablo ShmerkinUniversidad Torcuato Di Tella, Argentina
Jacob TsimermanUniversity of Toronto, Canada
Lou van den DriesUniversity of Illinois, USA
Mauricio VelascoUniversidad de los Andes, Colombia
Lai-Sang YoungNew York University, USA
* to be confirmed

Scientific Program Committee

The Scientific Program Committee is responsible for developing the scientific programming for the MCA 2021.

  • Alejandro Adem, Chair
  • Martin Barlow
  • Maria Chudnovsky
  • Alicia Dickenstein
  • Shafi Goldwasser
  • Alejandro Maass
  • Alf Onshuus  
  • Paolo  Piccione
  • Jill Pipher
  • Kannan Soundararajan
  • Luz de Teresa